Trick or Treat: A Silly, Spooky TTRPG

October 31, 2023

A few weeks ago I mentioned to my housemates that I had an idea for a Lasers and Feelings–style one-page TTRPG about monsters trying to pass as human on Halloween—and they were really excited by the idea, so I wrote it and ran it and it was great! And here it is!

Originally the Trick and Treat stats meant something like “naughty” and “nice” respectively, with secondary meanings of “flipping your shit” and “keeping a cool head.” The playtest revealed that plenty of rolls didn’t map well onto the naughty/nice paradigm (pretty much any roll that wasn’t directly interacting with an NPC), nor did the secondary paradigm fit the tone of the game. Hence the current stat system. I also changed the “prepared” bonus (lifted directly from Lasers and Feelings) to a “being proactive” bonus, since the former didn't work as well with the game’s “everything happens in a single night” premise. The changes have yet to be playtested; if by chance you run this game I’d love to hear about it! And because there is no comment section I must tell you that my email is sidetog@gmail.com.